Ugrás a tartalomhoz Lépj a menübe



There are nine planets in our

Solar system





1.) Mercury

mercury.pngThe Mercury is the first Planet from the Sun. In light minutes it is 3.2 minutes away. As Mercury is very close, it has not got any moons, because the gravity of the Sun would magnetize all of them. The planet is from rock, with other words, terrestrial.








2.) Venus 

venus.jpgVenus is the second planet, comes after Mercury. It takes exactly 6 light minutes to get there from the Sun. Venus has no moons either and it is a terrestrial planet as well.









3.) Planet Earth

earth.square.jpgThis is the only planet which has life on it, as a result of the proper living conditions. For instance the temperature as the Sun is further (8.3 light minutes) and the surface cannot get too hot, neither the other way round. It has an area around the surface which contains oxygen. Oxygen is vital for organizm. Of course, it is also a planet made of rock. This is the first one which owns a moon, called Moon. 




4.) Mars

mars.jpgMars is the last planet which is terrestrial. It is 12.6 light minutes away from Sun. Scientists have been working on making the Mars a place, where life will be able to exist. For example, they have found water lately under the surface.  It has two moons; The Phobos and the Deimos. However, Phobos is a little larger.








5.) Jupiter


This is the biggest and even the first gas planet in the Solar system, with other words, jovian. It is much further-43 light minutes away- from the Sun than its terrestrial relatives. Jupiter has 79 moons in all, but the first four biggest should only be mentioned. Those are the Io, the Europa, the Ganymedes and the Callisto. Ganymedes is the largest of all. 









saturn.pngSaturn is the planet, famous for its thickest ring around it. The ring is formed of water ice with some small rocks. It is 79.3 light minutes far from the Sun and is the second jovian planet. It has the most moons with the total of 82. The first four are named Titan, Rhea, Dione and Tethys. Titan is the largest of the four.










Uranus is another gas planet, 159.6 light minutes away from Sun. For the first time it was identified as a blaze star. It has 27 moons, including the Titania, the Oberon, the Umbriel and the Ariel.







neptune.jpgThis is the last jovian planet in the Solar system. It is 246 light minutes far from Sun. Neptune has 14 moons, the four largest are the Nereida, the Thalassa, the Larissa and the Triton which is far the largest of them.











Many people has been debating whether the Pluto can be considered as a planet, or not. It is a little odd one from the others, because this planet is terrestrial apart from the 330 light minutes from the Sun and has a completely different orbit than the others. That is also the smallest one of the planets. As a result, Pluto is now called 'dwarf planet' as a compromise. It has five moons, the Charon, the Nix, the Styx, the Hydra and the Kerberos. The Charon is the largest moon of the group.